writing

My creativity mentor recommended a 40-day writing course to me, and I am in day 35! It’s been a fascinating journey to unravel and recreate myself as a writer, and it has revealed something in me that I didn’t expect. So, here I go, a Shakespearean sonnet about the place I love the most:

Chéverie, My Love

What mys’try do you hide within your walls

What story will you tell when layers lift

What ghosts will beckon when my spirit calls

What words upon my page be cast adrift?

 

The ocean breezes come and go at will

New tides each day cast stories at my feet

The eagle sits upon a branch, so still

Within the space where tide and time do meet

 

You’ve seen them come and go, so many loves

Fair-footed, feathered, differently attired

Birds of the air, fleet foxes, sweet young wives

You’ve witnessed through the years and much admired

 

And ‘neath the faded paper of your world

The story of your life to me unfurls.

Leave a Reply

